Breaking News
More () »

FOX 61 | Connecticut breaking news, weather, traffic, sports and social media

Cuomo - NYC enters Phase 3 but without indoor dining

Urges residents to maintain proper procedures
Credit: AP
A screen displays a message thanking health care workers during the coronavirus outbreak, in a sparsely populated Times Square, Friday, March 20, 2020, in New York. New York Gov. Andrew Cuomo is ordering all workers in non-essential businesses to stay home and banning non-essential gatherings statewide. (AP Photo/John Minchillo)

ALBANY, N.Y. — Governor Andrew M. Cuomo  announced Sunday that New York City will enter Phase Three of reopening tomorrow, but that indoor dining will not reopen there. 

The governor also said 0.84 Percent of Saturday's COVID-19 tests were positive, and eight people died of COVID-19 related causes.

"New York City is a crowded, dense urban area and -- until recently -- was the global epicenter of the COVID-19 crisis," Governor Cuomo said. "Out of an abundance of caution and after seeing other states' experiences with indoor dining, we will wait to reopen it as the city moves to Phase Three tomorrow. As we end this holiday weekend, I urge everyone to be New York Tough: wear a mask, socially distance, use hand sanitizer and continue the smart practices that have made our state a national leader in combatting this virus. I also remind local governments of their duty to enforce the standards that have made NY's reopening safe and successful."

New York, New Jersey and Connecticut instituted travel advisories for people coming from states that had higher infection numbers. 

RELATED: 9 states added to self quarantine travel advisory for Tri-State area

RELATED: Gov. Lamont: COVID-19 positivity rate remains below 1% in Connecticut ahead of July 4th weekend

As of Tuesday, June 30, there are currently sixteen states that meet the criteria:

  • Alabama
  • Arkansas 
  • Arizona 
  • California 
  • Florida 
  • Georgia 
  • Iowa
  • Idaho
  • Louisiana
  • Mississippi
  • North Carolina
  • Nevada
  • South Carolina
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah

This list will be updated on a regular basis as the situation develops across the country.

Added states are California, Georgia, Iowa, Idaho, Louisiana, Mississippi, Nevada, Tennessee, and Utah

Previously only Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, Florida, North Carolina, South Carolina, Utah, and Texas were on the list.