Breaking News
More () »

FOX 61 | Connecticut breaking news, weather, traffic, sports and social media

Gov. Lamont talks about towns with increased cases of COVID-19

The state's positivity dropped to 1.3%

HARTFORD, Conn — Gov. Lamont said the state's positivity dropped to 1.3%, however, about a dozen towns had red alert levels indicating higher numbers of new cases. 

The briefing comes a day after the governor reported the state's positivity rate dropped to 2%. On Tuesday, the positivity was at 2.4%, which was the state's highest rate since June.

5,817 tests were administered and 213 came back positive.

Canterbury, Danbury, East Lyme, Griswold, Hartford, Montville, Norwich, New London, Preston, Sprague and Windham have more than 15 cases per 100,000.

Those towns have the option to roll back to Phase 2 for openings. 

Credit: FOX61

Lamont said the challenge now would be to see how the state can help small businesses. He said he hoped the federal government would standup to help, but he didn't see that forthcoming. 

Lamont said that rental assistance had been doubled to $40 million. He said part of the $120 million COVID relief fund would be directed to non profits. He expects a grant program for small business and non-profits will be announced next week, and use funds from that same fund. 

Hospitalizations saw an increase of 3. A total of 191 patients were being treated for COVID-19 Wednesday.

The state recorded 3 new COVID-related deaths.

Earlier this week, Michigan, Ohio and Virginia has been added to the list. Last week, New Mexico was added to the list. No states/territories were removed this week.

RELATED: Connecticut sees highest COVID-19 positivity rate since June; Michigan, Ohio and Virginia added to Travel Advisory List

The list is updated every week on Tuesday based on the COVID-19 numbers in each state. For more info, click here

  1. Alabama
  2. Alaska
  3. Arkansas
  4. Colorado
  5. Delaware
  6. Florida
  7. Georgia
  8. Guam
  9. Idaho
  10. Illinois
  11. Indiana
  12. Iowa
  13. Kansas
  14. Kentucky
  15. Louisiana
  16. Minnesota
  17. Mississippi
  18. Missouri
  19. Montana
  20. Nebraska
  21. Nevada
  22. New Mexico
  23. North Carolina
  24. North Dakota
  25. Oklahoma
  26. Puerto Rico
  27. Rhode Island
  28. South Carolina
  29. South Dakota
  30. Tennessee
  31. Texas
  32. Utah
  33. West Virginia
  34. Wisconsin
  35. Wyoming